The Dartmouth College Physical Education and Recreation Office hosted their annual awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 30th. Students were nominated by their peers then selected by the PE/Rec Office. A description of the awards and their respective winners is found below,

Ken Jones Award is given to that student, "who in the minds of the Recreational Sport staff, has exhibited a commitment to and love for recreational sport as exemplified by Ken during his 32 years of dedicated service to recreational sport at Dartmouth College.  The student shall have either excelled in recreational sport or enhanced the opportunities for students to participate in recreational sport during their years at Dartmouth."

Charles Quincy Tirrell Cup is given to the student "who in the judgment of the Office of Physical Education, has made the most satisfactory progress during  his/her years of college in physical and athletic development, taking into consideration qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, and achievement, due regard being given to excellence of work in the classroom." 

The Club Sports Leadership Award is presented to a student who has been exceptional in the organization, administration and the competitive and sportsmanlike spirit of his or her club.


Ken Jones Award:

Isabella Caruso ‘17 (Dartmouth Endurance Racing Team)

Angela Zhu ‘17 (Women's Ultimate)


Charles Quincy Tirrell Cup:

Ryan Hyun ‘20 (Fencing)


Club Sport Leadership Award:

Dan Finch ‘17 (Men's Ultimate)

Paige “PJ” Bigley ‘17 (Women's Water Polo)


Outstanding Student Instructor:

Larissa Phillips ‘17 (PE Tennis)


Outstanding Student Coach:

Kimmy Ma ‘18 (Club Swimming)

17S PE/Rec award winners

From left to right: Dan Finch '17, Isabella Caruso ;17, Ryan Hyun '20, PJ Bigley '17 and Larissa Phillips '17